I Can Vote Now!

Hey there everyone!

Thats right, it’s my birthday today and I’m 18 and officially responsible for everything I do now…

I’m having a lot of random thoughts, none of them related to each other or to my birthday, so I decided to take a little time to reflect. Being 18 means…what exactly? Among the things that popped into my head:

  1. I can get a driver’s license: I have no clue how useful this would be. I’m going to college in September in UK, where I can’t drive. But one can always fantasise about exceptionally generous salaries and expensive cars. I favour Jaguar myself, but my ideal is the Mini Cooper. A car with so much personality.
  2. I can vote: One of the things I really can’t make my mind up about. The elections are coming up, so every vote counts, I guess…
  3. Being my own person: Sigh. I’ve lost the chance to commit any crimes and get away with being a minor. Still there are benefits to being an adult. The biggest one being that my parents can’t be blamed for any insane things I do. Not that I plan to do any.

Umm…is there anything else?

Ooh…before I forget, heres a photo of my birthday present –

photo-6

 

Yep, it’s a book basket! I totally heart my sister and mom for putting it together!ย 

I admit some of the punch was taken out by the fact that I gave them the list of books to buy and kind of suggested the idea, but they managed to surprise me anyway with the laptop cover. (It’s completely adorable! Thanks guys!)

In case you’re wondering, the books gifted were:

  • Cinders by Marissa Meyer
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

There are a couple more books on the way, which I’ll post about when they arrive.

I really love buying and reading books. Thats why this present is so heart warming. There really is nothing better than a new book. Raise your hands if you’ve ever gone to a bookstore, opened a book, inhaled the scent of its crisp, new paper and wriggled about in joy. (I know you did…)

But I digress.

We’re going out for lunch today and later in the evening, I’ll finally get to see that customised cake my mom ordered. (Eagerly anticipating.)

In the meantime, tell me about your 18th birthday. What was it like? Or would be like? What are your thoughts on being 18?

P.S. Look forward to my reviews of a couple of books. Consider them birthday specials!

 

6 thoughts on “I Can Vote Now!

Leave a Reply

