Book Review – Forbidden: Discover the Legend

Forbidden: Discover the Legend (Wolf Sirens, #1)Forbidden: Discover the Legend by Tina Smith

Nope, nope, nopeity nope.

DNFed at 15% because I was steadily losing IQ points reading this book. There is purple prose without grammar, a heroine who thinks in Greek melodrama, a town called Shade and as far as I read, a plot based on the MC’s induction into a mysterious callisthenics Barbie group. 

I will let the text speak for itself as to why I stopped reading. Mistakes/oddities/plain stupidity in bold:

Take the first lines in the book from the thoughts of the MC. It looks like three random sentences that a kindergardener practiced cursive writing with:

“Animals don’t know hope, only fear and hunger. New beginnings are hard. My mother and I moved to Shade, because it was where she grew up.”

This one is probably my favourite because of the excessively long, twisted structure which ultimately is useless in creating a setting because we forget what was at the beginning of the sentence:

“I had a shower to warm my blood and readied myself in the eerie quiet. In the downstairs kitchen I had to open the screen door, despite the cold winter air , to hear the distant intermittent roar of traffic, from the nearest major road, no louder than a seashell to my ear.”

There are no words for the following. Though DAMN, GURL would come close to describing my feelings about this SMS from the MC to her father about the next-door old man’s 308 Winchester rifle:

“I texted: ‘Neighbour has loaded gun’ to Bec back home, while I waited at the bus stop, shivering.”

This one is hilarious in its hypocrisy. Weighty thoughts from a teenage protagonist who judges people by their appearances:

“The other kids seemed like me, casual in comparison, rough around the edges: baggy clothes, and acne-scarred, oily-haired with flyaway hairs and the pain and insecurity of puberty written on their faces.

Here comes the soap opera style soliloquy which could about a prophecy, exam results or a skin disease:

“How could I know that my innocent presence terrified them dar more than they threatened me, or what I had just triggered? I was what they had feared, what they had been hoping wouldn’t come. I had no way of knowing that I had surprised them or what they had sparked in me, which would soon ignite. I was simultaneously smashed into a thousand pieces inside and mysteriously, very slowly, began to reform from within, shard by shard.”

“Is that so?” was my reaction to the next one:

“They brandished footballs and muscular tanned bodies, which seemed to attest to their athleticism.”

The following quote my dear, is called a massive lapse in that thing called good sense, also spelled S-T-U-P-I-D-I-T-Y:

“You don’t have to be good,” offered Giny enthusiastically. “Just coordinated, strong and flexible?” (NOTE: This is regarding an offer to join the queen bees’ dance troupe.)

I gritted my teeth through the next catastrophe – I mean, apostrophe:

“…I had a feeling Samantha Thompson could have seemed genuine whilst selling ice to Eskimo’s .”

Another pearl of wisdom from the sagely, ancient heroine that is Lila Crain (Yes, the pun is practically invisible, dear author. Much applause to you.) :

“I knew Giny was testing to see the strength of my parental confines .”

Did anybody else picture a runaway food trolley while reading the next one?

“I tried to glide away from Giny as we entered the school.”

If you couldn’t guess what Sam’s role was from the last 20 pages, this quote should explain it to you (or not, because of the terrible grammar):

“Sam appeared. She was evidently even the ringleader in this poorly it video.”

The last straw was this sentence:

“I almost raised my voice, raining in my projection at the last second, to avoid the attention of the librarians.”

When an author and their editor does not know the difference between rain and rein, you know it’s time to stop reading. Also, commas are undergoing some sort of rave party in this book – either they’re used excessively or not at all. There are so many typos in the book. You name it, we bave it – spelling mistakes, punctuation errors, weird spacing, ambiguous and convolutes sentence structures. I couldn’t continue reading it because I was mentally editing the novel all the time, which meant I couldn’t focus on the story at all.

To be honest, I get the feeling that the author isn’t really a native English speaker or fluent in the language. The whole thing smells like a prettified Google Translate project. That however, doesn’t excuse the editor and all the people at the publishing house who happened to lay eyes on this book. You have a moral responsibility to your readers to at least provide them a text with the dots in the right places. As for the plot, which you seem to have forgotten anyway, that comes second to readability.

Hence, not recommended at all.

Leave a Reply

