Book Review – Cracked

Cracked (Soul Eater, #1)Cracked by Eliza Crewe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Spicy cotton candy. Fun in a box. Brain candy. Prepare to be blown away.



I don’t think I can accurately do justice to the fun, action packed ride that was this book. It was not what I was expecting, for sure. In my eyes, the friendship between Jo and Meda is enough to carry the book, but if that’s not sufficient, there’s humour (lots of it), a romance that does not involve the lead, lots of fighting and action scenes and really cool world building.

Anyway, I cooked up an acrostic poem in honour of the book.

Can you think of a girl who loves self-preservation like pickles? I can now.
Ripping people apart, verbally or not, Meda takes a bow.
All the world’s a stage, where demons and Templars collide
Cracking jokes or bones, which half of Meda will decide?
Knight or clawed ladies, friends are all that last
Escaping an asylum, losing anonymity really fast
Death over demonhood? So long as it’s done in style.

Favorite quotes:

“When Mom told me I was special and unique, I thought she literally meant I was special and unique. After all, I never met any other children who could lift cars or chew on steel bolts.”

“Like any fatherless child, I’ve wondered about the man responsible for the glory that is me. Needless to say, it’s disappointing to learn he’s the kind who’d probably eat his young.”

“I watch them relax – Chi’s confidence is catching. Unfortunately, my brains render me immune.”

“Good God, children. Can we focus on what’s important? Me.”

“Just because I’m going to die is no reason not to enjoy inflicting as much damage as possible. What can I say? I’m a glass-half-full kind of girl.”

How can you resist?

Leave a Reply

