Book Review – Queen of Shadows

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this book for the Machalo Challenge – a book that’s been on your TBR for over a year.
And this one has actually been on my physical bookshelf since it released. So.

UNPOPULAR REVIEW TIME!

Everyone else seems to have liked this more than I did, so I’m going to say it right now: I didn’t hate Queen of Shadows, I just didn’t love it.

So the good stuff:

– Aelin is a legit badass in this one, kills people about every three pages, but this tempered with good sense
– ROWWWWWWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
– The female friendship exploding out of the book – Aelin and Lysandra, Aelin and Nesryn, Manon and Aerin, Manon and Elide…all the girl power
– Our characters finally have some agency instead of being swept away in a wave of misfortune
– Manon becomes an interesting character and finally grows an opinion of her own
– Dat black dress
– Ships…ships everywhere (the romantic kind, dummy)
– Good food
(view spoiler)
(view spoiler)

The not so great stuff:

– Rowan, who doesn’t behave like the Rowan from the last book, but kinda like a Harlequin hero
– Chaol, who had undertaken the job of being the resident octopus and just generally making life harder than it should be
– I barely remembered who Kaltain was, and Lysandra not at all
– MORE BLOODY CHARACTERS
– That freakishly convenient ending, stuff resolved a bit too easily, given the first three books
– Hearing about Aelin’s sad past and how lonely and painful it was
– Hearing about Aelin’s awesomeness, how skilled she is at fighting (eye-roll)
– Hearing about Aelin’s stunning beauty because we totally didn’t know about it
– Hearing about Aelin’s newfound queenliness and how royal she looks all the freaking time
(view spoiler)
– And finally, the most annoying of all, Aelin’s sudden ability to out-think everyone and basically pull a series of complicated gambits, when there has been no indication of this whatsoever in the past

Don’t get me wrong, I found most of it enjoyable, but I spent 99% of my time wondering how Aelin was doing this. And grinding my teeth on her non-Celaena name. I might read the next one but I don’t think I’ll devote resources to this series like I previously used to.
Ciao, bella.

Leave a Reply

